Text too small in X Windows when using nvidia-drivers

In an earlier post titled ‘Switching between Intel and NVIDIA graphics processors on a laptop with NVIDIA Optimus hardware running Gentoo Linux‘ I described how I am able to switch between the closed-source NVIDIA video driver and the open-source Intel video driver on a Clevo W230SS laptop with NVIDIA Optimus hardware. This works nicely, but one thing had been niggling me for over a year: the size of the fonts in the Desktop Environment were much smaller when using the NVIDIA driver than when using the Intel driver. I could of course increase the font size via KDE’s ‘System Settings’ > ‘Font’ when using the NVIDIA driver, but then I would have to reduce the font size the same way when using the Intel driver. So I resolved to find a better way, and it turned out all I needed to do was add one line to the Monitor section in xorg.conf to specify the DPI (Dots Per Inch) for the X Screen when using the NVIDIA driver:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    Option         "DPMS"
    Option         "DPI" "96 x 96"
EndSection

You can read more about this in the NVIDIA Accelerated Linux Graphics Driver README and Installation Guide, Appendix B. X Config Options.

As described in my earlier post, I run a script to copy a file I named xorg.conf.nvidia to xorg.conf when I want to use the NVIDIA driver, and another script to copy a file I named xorg.conf.intel to xorg.conf when I want to use the Intel driver. So all I needed to do was add the line Option "DPI" "96 x 96" to the Monitor section in the file xorg.conf.nvidia and run my script to switch to the NVIDIA driver. Problem finally solved.

About Fitzcarraldo
A Linux user with an interest in all things technical.

Leave a Reply

