BT Broadband and Netflix on a smart TV: a solution at last?

The fix I described in an earlier post stopped working after a couple of weeks, and my family was again unable to access Netflix on our smart TV. Some people had reported that replacing their BT Home Hub 3 with a BT Home Hub 5 resolved the Netflix problem with their smart TVs, so I decided to buy a second-hand BT Home Hub 5 and can report that Netflix is again accessible via the Netflix app on my LG smart TV.

A post by an owner of a Sony smart TV reinforces my suspicion that the problem is due to a combination of providers:

The problem is that netflix app adds 8.8.4.4 as a DNS server. Using anything other than the homehub default gateway as the DNS server returns an error from parental controls as it uses that to apply said controls. No other app on my Sony smart TV does that and just uses what the DHCP server on the homehub hands out. The netflix app has to stop adding that backup IP address for DNS. Is it Sony setting that value or Netflix? Considering it is happening on non-Sony TVs the finger looks to be pointing at Netflix.

Anyway, I just hope the problem is finally solved in my case. The price I paid for the second-hand BT Home Hub 5 was reasonable, and it does have some advantages over the BT Home Hub 3 I was using previously, such as support for 802.11ac Wi-Fi and no need for an external DSL modem, so I am satisfied with the outcome although my opinion of BT is even lower now.

About Fitzcarraldo
A Linux user with an interest in all things technical.

Leave a Reply

