KDE Connect on a hotel Wi-Fi network

KDE Connect

I am a fan of KDE Connect (see my 2014 post about an earlier version), but had previously been unable to use it with a hotel network. However today I managed to do that, and here is how I did it …

I first connected my laptop and my Samsung Galaxy Note 4 to the hotel’s Wi-Fi network, then used the ifconfig command in Linux on my laptop to find the IP address of my laptop on the hotel’s network. Note that the IP address one sees if one uses a Web site such as WhatIsMyIPAddress will be the laptop’s outward-facing IP address, not the IP address of the laptop on the hotel network. For example, the ifconfig command has just shown me that my current DHCP-allocated IP address is 10.154.245.40 on this hotel’s network for this session whereas the Web site WhatIsMyIPAddress is showing my IP address as 78.100.57.102.

By the way, I can also use the excellent Android utility Fing on my Galaxy Note 4 to find the IP address of my laptop on the hotel’s network. It is quite interesting to use Fing to see what other devices (their hostname and IP address) are currently connected to the hotel’s network.

Anyway, then I launched KDE Connect on the Galaxy Note 4, tapped and ‘Add devices by IP’, and entered the laptop’s IP address (10.154.245.40 in this specific case). I was able to pair with KDE Connect running on my laptop and send files from my phone to the laptop, and vice versa.

About Fitzcarraldo
A Linux user with an interest in all things technical.

Leave a Reply

