SDDM keyboard layout

I am using Plasma 5 in Gentoo Linux ~amd64 with OpenRC on my Compal NBLB2 laptop. The Display Manager I am using is SDDM, and the log-in screen was using the US keyboard layout, the only keyboard layout available in the log-in screen’s keyboard menu. Searching the Web told me that SDDM uses the keyboard layout specified in the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/00-keyboard.conf. The trouble is, it doesn’t (at least not in my case). The file already existed in my installation, and its contents are listed below:

Section "InputClass"
    Identifier "keyboard"
    MatchIsKeyboard "yes"
    Option "XkbLayout" "gb,us,br,es"
    Option "XkbVariant" ""
    Option "XkbOptions" "grp:alt_shift_toggle"
EndSection

The X.Org keyboard layouts specified in the file are available once I have logged in to the Plasma 5 Desktop, but none of the four keyboards (gb, us, br and es) were displayed by SDDM in its log-in screen menu. Eventually I discovered it is possible to specify the keyboard layouts in the file /usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsetup which, by default, contains only the following:

#!/bin/sh
# Xsetup - run as root before the login dialog appears

I edited the file to contain the list of keyboards I wanted SDDM to allow me to choose from on the log-in screen:

#!/bin/sh
# Xsetup - run as root before the login dialog appears
setxkbmap gb,us,br,es

Now the SDDM log-in screen displays the national flags of those four keyboard languages in its keyboard menu, and I can select which keyboard layout to use for typing my password to log in to the Plasma 5 Desktop.

ADDENDUM (October 23, 2016): If you are fed up with upgrades overwriting the change you made to the file /usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsetup, add the Bash script 30sddm_Xsetup.start in the directory /etc/local.d/, containing the following:

#!/bin/bash
# Make sure the keyboards that I use are selectable on the SDDM greeter screen.
if ! grep setxkbmap /usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsetup 1> /dev/null
then
    echo "setxkbmap gb,us,br,es" >> /usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsetup
fi

About Fitzcarraldo
A Linux user with an interest in all things technical.

One Response to SDDM keyboard layout

  1. Christian Gleerup says:

    thanks, finally solved same problem🙂

Leave a Reply

